Day 364: Sing on camera

September 1, 2011 § 1 Comment

I have something special for my second to last post.

In high school I participated in choir and theater. While I sung some solos in musical theater roles, I never had an opportunity to sing a solo in front of an audience as myself. It’s a big regret of mine – there are few things that can make a person feel more vulnerable than standing alone and bearing your sole through music. I was set to sing and play guitar to Jeff Buckley’s ‘Hallelujah’at a variety show the last week of my senior year, but I was cut at the last minute for not having a particularly theatrical act. So I present to you a video of me singing and playing the guitar to the song ‘First Day of My Life’ by Bright Eyes. I know it isn’t exactly singing a solo in front of an audience, but it’s probably the closest I’ll get at this point. I would hardly call myself a guitarist. “One who occasionally strums a guitar” might be a more accurate definition. Also, my friend Michael used to play (and sing) a much much better version of this song. But enough excuses – here it is.

Forgive me.

§ One Response to Day 364: Sing on camera

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 364: Sing on camera at Novice Du Jour.

meta

