Day 311: Eat a beer float

July 10, 2011 § 1 Comment

I’m a big fan of experimental cuisine.

Furthermore, I’ve long believed that if you take two foods that taste delicious separately and put them together, the resulting combination will synthesize into one delicious dish. Turns out this is an epicurean fallacy.

I’d heard of beer floats being made with stout. Unfortunately, all I had on hand was some Goose Island Honker’s Ale (an English style bitter), which I then poured over Dreyer’s French Vanilla. After the first spoonful, my optimism was quickly reduced to foamy spit in the sink.  The resulting taste can best be described as “Olive Vanilla Band-aid.”

Lesson learned. I guess I’ll have to disband tomorrow’s plans to make Calamari Cheesecake.

 

§ One Response to Day 311: Eat a beer float

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 311: Eat a beer float at Novice Du Jour.

meta

