Day 280: Visit Wisconsin and find America in a Barrel

June 10, 2011 § Leave a comment

Tonight I come to you from beautiful Wisconsin – land of cheese and mosquitos.

Despite all odds, I was able to jerry-rig some internet access in the gorgeous lakeside cabin where we are vacationing with Stephanie’s friends from school. It is their last hurrah, so to speak, as classes ended yesterday and graduation is set for a week from tomorrow.

Within the first 100 miles of entering the cauliflower shaped-state, I noted at least 10 different restaurants/factories/shopping centers with the word ‘cheese’ in their name: Mars’ Cheese Castle, House of Cheese, Squeeze My Cheese, etc. But the only Wisconsin dairy I’ve tasted thus far came in the form of a Western Omelet from Cracker Barrel, a truckstop staple that I’d seen a dozen times but never had the heart to enter. Until today.

Upon coming into the Cracker Barrel store – a touristy gateway to the restaurant, oozing with the most stereotypical Americana you can imagine. The first items to catch my eye were:

  • CD of country singer Randy Travis (Cracker Barrel edition)
  • Carving of a bald eagle
  • Marshmallow MoonPies
  • Travel game of “Are You Smarter Than a Fifth Grader?”

The food was actually pretty good – especially the buttery biscuits. And on atmosphere, they do not skimp.

Interior of a Cracker Barrel by Nightscream

Have no fear, ladies and gentlemen. America abides. I’ve seen her. She’s at the Cracker Barrel off of US-94 in Baraboo, Wisconsin.

Since arriving at the cabin , I’ve had the privilege of dousing myself with frigid lake water and being harvested by local insects. Thunderstorms are expected for tomorrow, but fear not, for “come with me if you want to live.”

Whoops, wrong Arnold quote. What I meant to say was, “I’ll be back.”

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 280: Visit Wisconsin and find America in a Barrel at Novice Du Jour.

meta

