Day 259: Miss the Pacific Northwest

May 20, 2011 § 2 Comments

Five months and three weeks.

That’s the longest time I’ve been away from the West Coast since we moved back to Portland right before I started 8th grade.

The Midwest is fine but, let’s face it, it’s the Midwest. And as much as I try to be proud of my new geographic region – known for its cattle, cornfields and corrupt politicians – there is still something to be said for having mountains, beaches, rivers, deserts and major metropolitan cities all within reasonable driving distance.

Top five things I miss about Portland right now:

  1. Weather. A break from the rainy season is finally on the horizon, and Portland summers are beautiful. None of these erratic jumps between freezing cold and humid 80 degrees with thunderstorms that we’re having here right now. Chicago must have forgot its Zanex.
  2. Craft beer. Kind of sick of Goose Island right now, and the other local brews sold at the grocery store are crazy expensive. I think I’d be willing to pass a kidney stone or suffer a prostate exam if in return I was promised a Deschutes Mirror Pond or a Widmer Drop Top.
  3. Hills. When the Black Eyes Peas come to Chicago, Fergie’s humps are the highest elevation for 1000 miles.
  4. Recycling. I’m getting tired of picking other people’s Coke bottles out of the trash and carrying them 10 feet to the popularly ignored recycle bin. In Portland, such offenders would be beaten with organic bike chains.
  5. and Family. Because where would we be without the awkward photos?

The great West Coast poet Calvin “Snoop Dogg” Broadus once said, “I’m letting everybody know that the West Coast is definitely making a strong comeback.”

As for me, I’m just waiting to make my comeback to the West Coast.

§ 2 Responses to Day 259: Miss the Pacific Northwest

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 259: Miss the Pacific Northwest at Novice Du Jour.

meta

