Day 255: Pinch out a candle

May 16, 2011 § Leave a comment

Today I conquered fire.

Childhood friends can attest to the fact that as a kid I was a pretty big wuss. In many ways I still am.

I have a mild fear of sparklers, lighters, fire crackers and other flame spewing devices. While some of my friends were pyromaniacs on the Fourth of July, gleefully lighting Roman candles and other illegal explosives they bought from Native American reservations in Washington,  I preferred to spend the holiday in the kitchen, stuffing my face with hot dogs and angel food cake like a real patriot.

So tonight I met my fear head on by pinching out a candle with my fingers.

I wanted to use the Final Countdown by Europe as background music, but after posting yesterday’s video of the “Single Ladies” dance, I received an email that I had violated a copyright law and my video was officially blocked from youtube Germany. I thus decided I was better off playing it safe, so I hope you instead appreciate the ominous silence.

And so, without further ado, I will now put out a candle with my fingers. I know it’s tempting, but try not to shut your eyes or look away, though there is a 50 percent chance it might have a “Raiders of the Lost Ark” effect.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 255: Pinch out a candle at Novice Du Jour.

meta

