Day 241: Watch with the world

May 2, 2011 § Leave a comment

I thought it would be inappropriate to post tonight about eating peanut butter with my toes or something else stupid and frivolous.

I saw it on Facebook before I saw it on the news. While celebration is not my personal response, it is bizarre to reflect on the fact that I’ve lived 10 of my 22 years under the banner of the War on Terror and the search for bin Laden. I think many of us no longer had any real expectations, but thought of the manhunt as more of a symbol to never forget. To never forget the day that changed our world forever.

Where were you on September 11, 2001?

I was in Mrs. Powers’ seventh grade social studies class at Hocker Grove Middle School in Shawnee, Kansas. We ditched the planned curriculum and had the classroom tube TV tuned to the looping footage of the planes hitting the World Trade Center buildings and the ghostly shadows of smoke billowing into the sky.¬† Before then I hardly knew what terrorism was, but since that day the after effects have played out in our newspapers, computer monitors and televisions screens every day.

And now he’s gone.

Tonight the air seems to be filled with…justice? Unity? Or dare I say, hope?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 241: Watch with the world at Novice Du Jour.

meta

