Day 237: Get published without knowing it

April 28, 2011 § 4 Comments

In December, Steph and I went with my family to see Portland Center Stage’s production of “A Christmas Story,” and I blogged about the show on Day 108: See a Christmas Story Live.

In the past month, my blog readership exploded and I didn’t know why. While before I was averaging about 50 to 60 page views a day, I started averaging 100+. I noticed on my Blog Stats page that for some reason, the Christmas Story post was getting a ton of page views:

And that was happening week after week. I figured that some other blogger must have linked to it and didn’t do much further exploring, but tonight Stephanie put her Google-sleuthing skills to the test and found this:

To get a closer look, go here: http://www.pcs.org/xmas-story-2010/.

Right below that video, the first post under the heading “Reviews and Comments” is MY POST FROM THE NOVICE DU JOUR. Portland Center Stage published my post on their site as a review,  placing it above reviews from Portland Monthly, Portland Mercury, Willamette Week and The Oregonian.

There are only five reviews up there – just mine and those from the theater critics of Portland’s most prominent publications. Right there on one of the home pages of Portland Center Stage. Why people are looking at the page for “A Christmas Story” in April is beyond me.

So that’s where the traffic to my blog was coming from. If I had known they were going to publish it, I would’ve been a little more prudent with my writing. That post includes the line, “Oh leg lamp, oh leg lamp, thy thighs so full and shapely!”

§ 4 Responses to Day 237: Get published without knowing it

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 237: Get published without knowing it at Novice Du Jour.

meta

