Day 229: Eat a tin of octopus

April 19, 2011 § Leave a comment

Tonight I continued my culinary exploits by eating a tin of octopus.

I really like fried calamari, but for some reason octopus seemed more ominous.

The smell was pungent – reminiscent of Pike Place market in Seattle. I was reminded of the octopi I saw floating around tanks at Shedd Aquarium a few weeks ago.

I found a website that said it is most commonly eaten with hot sauce straight from the can. So I dipped it in some habanero pepper sauce and took a bite.

The texture was rubbery, which is what I had expected, but it wasn’t overwhelmingly fishy or salty (at least not compared to the anchovies I tried on Day 158.) The actual taste wasn’t all that far from chicken. In fact, I kind of liked it. I ate one piece…then another…then another.

And then the tin was empty. I ate it all.

While maybe not my new favorite food, I could see myself snacking on octopus in the future.

My next grocery list:

  • Eggs
  • AA batteries
  • Tide
  • Kleenex
  • Octopus
Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 229: Eat a tin of octopus at Novice Du Jour.

meta

