Day 227: Watch Dora the Explorer

April 18, 2011 § 1 Comment

Okay, so watch is a very strong word.

It would be more accurate to say, “Listen to every word of Dora the Explorer, Handy Manny, and some Barbie princess show for hours on end because our neighbors were either trying to hear the television from the basement of the building, or for some reason installed surround sound for their TV in our apartment.”

And so even though I had us rockin’ out to a Peter Gabriel Pandora station (I’ve been into 80’s music of late), it was with the distinctive background music of the “Map Song.” It was coming through the sheet rock so clear I could literally write down the lyrics:

If there’s a place you got to go
I’m the one you need to know
I’m the Map
I’m the Map
I’m the Map

If there’s a place you got to get
I can get you there I bet
I’m the Map
I’m the Map
I’m the Map

Even though it was supremely irritating, I didn’t have the heart to knock on the wall or go bang on their door. There are two little kids over there, and I can’t imagine what it would be like to be four or five and confined to an apartment that’s smaller than most public restrooms.

Ultimately, I decided that if anyone has a right to listen to Dora say, “Let’s go! Vamanos!” at 150 decibels it is those kids.

So I put in my headphones.

§ One Response to Day 227: Watch Dora the Explorer

  • Kim says:

    Awww, you have a heart!! I distinctly remember a little boy who used to love these very irritating Wee Sing videos, who would watch them over and over while his poor mom banged her head against a wall!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 227: Watch Dora the Explorer at Novice Du Jour.

meta

