Day 226: Read the longest book in the world

April 17, 2011 § Leave a comment

Well, I haven’t actually read it yet and I’m sure it’s not really the longest book in the world. But now I have your attention.

Clocking in at a whopping 4 pounds and 736 pages, this brick of a book is big enough to use as a hand weight. My parents had given it to me for Christmas, but because of school, as well as my fear of being eaten by this beast, I didn’t have a chance to start it until today. Which would explain why my forearms are a bit sore this evening after I hoisted up this sucker for an hour or so.

Mark Twain is above and by far my favorite author of all time.  I idolize him, everything from the thick bushy mustache to his sharp-as-those-knives-that-cut-through-cans wit. I could watch Ken Burns slowly pan across sepia toned photographs of him for hour upon hour.

Which is why I really am excited to dig into this assimilation of his old letters and numerous failed attempts at constructing an autobiography on his own. This book (which is only Volume 1) only came out last November because Twain stipulated that it not be published until 100 years after his death.

Twain was a journalist, humorist, stand-up comedian and literally wrote the great American novel. He embodies everything I could ever imagine achieving in my lifetime. I even have a tattoo of the cover of his 1880 travel memoir “A Tramp Abroad.”

A Tramp Abroad

Image via Wikipedia

Unfortunately, I don’t have a hard copy of this edition because it costs…$4000. SO! If you ever happen to stumble across a copy with this cover in a pile at a dusty used bookstore or in some moth-ridden attic, I would offer a handsome sum (just not that handsome) in exchange.

Now back to reading. I guess I’ll see you in 2013.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 226: Read the longest book in the world at Novice Du Jour.

meta

