Day 225: Botch a self-portrait

April 15, 2011 § 6 Comments

The Model

I’ll be the first to tell you that I am a terrible artist.

While my parents were always very encouraging of my every endeavor, artist, animator and cartoonist were never words discussed in combination with my future. I must have channeled Picasso as a child, because every person, place and thing in my school drawings was composed of assorted rectangles (even heads).

But I put aside my doubts tonight and attempted to sketch a self-portrait. Behold the monstrosity:

The Portrait

Apparently I am the lovechild of Andre the Giant and Gary Busey. How I turned out a homeless lumberjack is beyond my explanation. It was all downhill after my nose came out looking like the bottom half of a thermometer. I think the strong jawline and thick neck were just subconscious desires I superimposed on myself. It’s also unclear how my five o’clock shadow morphed into a rapist mustache.

I think I’ll stick with the cubism.

§ 6 Responses to Day 225: Botch a self-portrait

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 225: Botch a self-portrait at Novice Du Jour.

meta

