Day 224: Learn I’m emotionally average

April 15, 2011 § Leave a comment

I’m socially normal for a man.

That’s what I learned tonight when I took a test that calculated my “empathy quotient.” It’s like your IQ, but for emotions. On a scale of “Definitely disagree” to “Definitely agree,”  I had to rate 60 statements that said things such as (the bold indicates how I answered):

  • I prefer animals to humans. (Definitely disagree)
  • In a conversation, I tend to focus on my own thoughts rather than on what my listener might be thinking. (Definitely agree)
  • When I was a child, I enjoyed cutting up worms to see what would happen. (Definitely disagree)
  • People often tell me that I am very unpredictable. (Definitely disagree)
  • I usually stay emotionally detached when watching a film. (Definitely disagree)
  • I can usually appreciate the other person’s viewpoint, even if I don’t agree with it. (Slightly disagree)

Because of my answers, I received a score of 39, which ranks as follows:
0 – 32 = low (most people with Asperger Syndrome or high-functioning autism score about 20)
33 – 52 = average (most women score about 47 and most men score about 42)
53 – 63 is above average
64 – 80 is very high
80 is maximum

And so I scored slightly lower than average for men. I find it funny but not entirely unexpected that women score higher than men, but I’m curious why this is the case. Maybe because men are historically competitive, relationships don’t come to us as naturally. Or we’re just self-centered.

You can take the test and see how you rank emotionally here: http://glennrowe.net/BaronCohen/EmpathyQuotient/EmpathyQuotient.aspx

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 224: Learn I’m emotionally average at Novice Du Jour.

meta

