Day 217: Respond to a natural disaster

April 8, 2011 § Leave a comment


I was still awake when the devastating Tsunami hit Japan last month.

It was 1 or 2am and I was up doing homework and watching TV. All of a sudden my Twitter feed was filled with news about the giant wave and prayers for those in the midst of disaster. I stayed up all night following the story. Al Jazeera English streamed live video of the wall of water engulfing entire neighborhoods.

And then today Japan was hit with yet another earthquake, and is once again under a Tsunami watch. This time around I felt compelled to contribute. I finally received the payment a week or so ago from my first freelance job, and tonight I decided to donate the full $50 to the American Red Cross. I don’t mean to sound preachy, but I’d like to think that if Chicago was hit by some natural disaster and I was stuck without food, shelter or water, that someone else on the other side of the world – someone just like me, sitting in his boxers on the couch, watching NBA highlights and eating peanut butter by the spoonful – might feel compelled to help.

If you have any interest in donating, you can go to https://american.redcross.org/site/Donation2?5052.donation=form1&df_id=5052&idb=0.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 217: Respond to a natural disaster at Novice Du Jour.

meta

