Day 214: Consider marketing the robot

April 5, 2011 § Leave a comment

You may remember that on “Day 192: Create a robot to fill out my NCAA bracket,” I had Stephanie design a computer program, which I named Waldo, to randomly predict the winners for my March Madness bracket.

Well guess what?

WALDO GOT IT RIGHT.

Tonight Connecticut beat Butler 53 to 41 in the final game of the NCAA Tournament to become the National Champion and to win me 50 bucks.

Waldo had also predicted that 14 seed Wofford and 15 seed Akron would make it to the Final Four, when in reality they were knocked out in the first round. So maybe Waldo is no Watson (the super computer from Jeopardy), but he did pick Connecticut and help me win my bracket pool. So I guess his miss-picks are forgivable.

I’d better go work on my sales pitch for when Google or Microsoft come a-callin’.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 214: Consider marketing the robot at Novice Du Jour.

meta

