Day 213: Drink the beer I made

April 4, 2011 § Leave a comment

This event actually started last night, but it was a big deal and ran until early this morning, so I’m counting it as today’s new activity.

After a month of fermentation, that English brown ale that I blogged about on “Day 178: Brew beer” and “Day 185: Bottle” was finally ready for drinking.

We couldn’t have any plain old unveiling – there were 24 22-ounce bottles to drink. That meant a party. So we crammed as many people as we could into an apartment in Andersonville and started poppin’ bottles. We were short on cups so we used everything from coffee mugs to wine glasses to a liquid measuring cup.

And it was actually pretty good. It was smooth and went down easy. The fact that it was unfiltered (meaning that there was a little bit of sediment floating around in the bottle) didn’t bother me a bit.

Was it the most flavorful beer I’ve ever had? Probably not, but for a first try I think it turned out really well. There seemed to be a very positive consensus from the crowd, and we went through all five gallons, so unless people were dumping it into the bathtub then at least I know that it was drinkable. We got such comments as:

“It looks and tastes like beer.”

“Someone might buy this.”

and

“It didn’t make me throw up.”

So, in a word, success.

We plan to do a little bit more experimenting with our next brew. Maybe chocolate or espresso or some fruity flavor. I’m one step closer to my dream of owning a brewery in the Columbia River Gorge.

To conclude, admire this awesome custom label created by co-brewmaster Chris Bentley.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 213: Drink the beer I made at Novice Du Jour.

meta

