Day 208: Become obsessed with podcasts

March 30, 2011 § 1 Comment

I had never listened to a podcast before coming to Medill.

I wasn’t much of a talk radio person either. My time driving around Portland was spent listening to either Kink 101.9 or music on my iPod. However, the wheels of change were put in motion as Steph and I were preparing for our road trip and my friend Mike’s mom, Jan, loaned me her CDs of NPR’s Car Talk and Wait, Wait…Don’t Tell Me. She also gave us a printout of the NPR stations in every state we would pass through on our way to Chicago.

During our long hours in the car we quickly blew through the CDs and I found myself using the printout to navigate our radio to NPR in areas as remote as south central Wyoming.

So I was an occasional NPR listener before I started school, but then the first quarter began, where the latest episode of This American Life is a typical topic of conversation. Now I’m an addict. I subscribe to This American Life, Fresh Air, Wait, Wait…Don’t Tell Me and Car Talk.

Then there are the following three comedy podcasts that I’m going to recommend to you now that literally have me laugh out loud when I’m at home alone, as if I’m sort of crazy person. They are:

  1. The Ricky Gervais Show. Ricky Gervais of The Office, Extras, and more recently, Golden Globe-hosting fame is also pretty much one of the fathers of the comedic podcast. On his show, Gervais and friend Stephen Merchant extract and make fun of the bizarre and hilarious ideas of the genius/idiot Karl Pilkington. Among Karl’s greatest ideas include shipping milk to Africa instead of goats and having people age backward to solve global overpopulation.
  2. The Bugle. Daily Show correspondent John Oliver and British comedian Andy Zaltzman make political humor. It is truly a delightful way to absorb the news.
  3. WTF with Marc Maron. This is quite possibly my favorite of the three listed. Longtime comedian Marc Maron does in-depth interviews with other comics – interviews that are often hilarious, revealing, heartfelt and/or tension-filled. Maybe I like it so much because it’s a fusion of comedy and journalism. However, if you’re easily turned off by profanity or graphic language, this isn’t for you. Otherwise, off the top of my head, I recommend Marc’s interviews with Louis C.K., Ira Glass, Rob Corddry, Adam McKay, Kevin Smith and Bob Saget.

Are there any awesome podcasts out there I’m not aware of? Please, let me know, as this has become my new favorite way to waste time.

§ One Response to Day 208: Become obsessed with podcasts

  • Molly says:

    Glad you found WTF. It’s awesome! I also like Eight Forty-Eight, which is sort-of the WBEZ Chicago version of All Things Considered. And NPR’s On the Media, Mountain Stage (I keep telling you!) and Radiolab are must-listens. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 208: Become obsessed with podcasts at Novice Du Jour.

meta

