Day 196: Insult the Irish

March 18, 2011 § 1 Comment

Tonight the Irish weep.

That is because I obliterated what was supposed to be an Irish dessert in honor of St. Patrick’s Day: Irish Bread Pudding with Whiskey Sauce.

Stephanie’s the cook in our relationship (if I haven’t yet made this painfully clear), but she was at school slaving over another project. I have to get up early tomorrow so I decided to spend St. Paddy’s Day drinking beer and watching NCAA games instead of going out. However, I still wanted to do something in honor of the Irish. Steph and I take the heels from bread loaves and keep them in a bag in the freezer expressly so that Steph can make bread pudding out of them, which is why I pulled this bread pudding recipe off the web.

It was soupy and tasted like fried egg and Jameson Irish Whisky. I like fried eggs, but with ketchup and hashbrowns, not in a dessert. I like whisky as whisky.

It wasn’t my fault. I double checked the recipe and I know I had the proper proportions, so the only conclusion is that the recipe was wrong. There’s also a slight chance that I didn’t properly mix the eggs and the milk. But I’m going to blame the recipe.

Reason number 111,188 why I shouldn’t be allowed in the kitchen. Irish, I apologize for metaphorically vomiting on your culture.

§ One Response to Day 196: Insult the Irish

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 196: Insult the Irish at Novice Du Jour.

meta

