Day 195: Go to a movie alone

March 17, 2011 § Leave a comment

Today I took myself to the movies.

Just me, all alone. I did something similar in the fall when I went out to dinner alone , and had actually found that rather depressing. But this was an entirely different experience.

The movie started at 5:30, so I bought a sandwich from Potbelly for dinner and snuck it into the theater by stuffing it in the waistband of my jeans. The fact that I managed this without looking awkward is probably a sign that I need to buy some tighter pants.

The theater was absolutely empty when I walked in 10 minutes before the movie was set to start. It was freedom like I had never felt. I could do whatever I wanted – sit on the sticky floor, touch the screen, put up the armrest and lie down. I chose the best seat in the house (five rows back, slightly to the right because I prefer to have my right eye slightly offset), and pondered the possibilities while eating my sandwich, which had left a slight grease stain in my jeans.

When the theater darkened and the previews began, I felt like I was getting a personal showing. I put my feet up on the seat in front of me. Then, just as the previews finished and the movie was about to start, a couple walked in. Not only did they infringe upon my solitude, they sat right in front of me!

So it went from awesome to awkward real fast.

There were a few times when I laughed out loud at a raunchy joke and the couple in front of me didn’t laugh at all. I ignored their poor sense of humor and enjoyed myself.

I saw Cedar Rapids, starring Ed Helms and John C. Reilly. It’s about a sheltered small town insurance salesman (Helms) who goes to an  conference in Cedar Rapids, Iowa and has this wild weekend involving everything from skinny dipping to gang fights. My dad is an insurance agent, so it gave me some insight as to what likely transpired at the conference he went to in Anaheim last fall.

The movie was hilarious. I recommend it, and so does Rotten Tomatoes.

I’m no hermit, but I do have to say that time spent alone gets an unfairly bad rap. There are no obligations to entertain, no obligations to impress. I found it soothing. Give it a shot sometime and go to a movie alone. Treat yourself nice.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 195: Go to a movie alone at Novice Du Jour.

meta

