Day 172: Learn narwhals exist

February 22, 2011 § 1 Comment

So apparently narwhals are real animals. Did you know this? I never got the memo, so my mind was effectively blown when I learned they actually existed.

I Tweeted about this interesting photo slideshow I had found from TIME where they had taken photos of families from all around the world next to a table piled high with the food they eat in a month. On the bottom of each photo is a caption that says what some of the family’s favorite foods are. My friend Lauren Biron noticed that theĀ Melansons of Iqaluit, Nunavut Territory, Canada had the following listed as their favorite foods: polar bear, extra cheese stuffed crust pizza, watermelon and narwhal.

They eat narwhal! And that’s how I discovered they were real animals. I had thought they were mythical creatures, like unicorn or the chupacabra. I feel like this fantasy was perpetuated by the movie Elf:

It is officially my new favorite animal, and now you, in turn, can educate yourself on the beauty that is the narwhal:

 

 

§ One Response to Day 172: Learn narwhals exist

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 172: Learn narwhals exist at Novice Du Jour.

meta

