Day 169: Get trapped on a train

February 19, 2011 § Leave a comment

I was always sure I’d get trapped on an elevator. My last job required me to constantly ride up and down 40 floors, and I figured that it was only a matter of time before the elevator broke down and I would be stuck. I ended up getting out of that job scot-free (at least as far as faulty elevators go), but today I got stranded on a broken down train, which slightly made up for it.

It was on the L, between the Howard and South Blvd. stops. All of a sudden the train made a hissing noise, slowed, and the lights went out. I heard the engine try to start once, twice, three times, but it just sputtered and died.

My car had about 12 people in it. Maybe we were just all feeling a collective lethargy after a long Friday, because no one even bothered to get up. I went back to playing Angry Birds on my cell phone and listening to the new Decemberists album.

To be honest, it is not really comparable to getting stuck in an elevator at all. In an elevator, it is dark and confining. On the train, I was free to move around if I so wished, had sunlight, and could’ve jumped out an emergency exit if entirely necessary.

They sent for a  mechanic and after about 25 to 30 minutes the train started back up.

I’d just like to take a moment to thank the second bottle of Diet Coke I had drunk a few hours before that put me to the point where I had to go to the bathroom right before leaving the newsroom, because I have a feeling that this blog would have a very different tone if my bladder had been full on that stalled train.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 169: Get trapped on a train at Novice Du Jour.

meta

