Day 161: Run out of underwear

February 10, 2011 § 1 Comment

Today I went to a really cool design firm for the second half of my practicum, but I’m going back again tomorrow so there will be more on that later.

Instead, I’d like to focus on a near crisis I had this evening.

I’m not sure if it is because I’m busy or just lazy, but I procrastinate on doing laundry. So much so, in fact, that a mountain of stinky socks and other garments inevitably rises from our laundry basket and blocks the lower portion of our window.

I was wearing my last pair of clean underwear today with a plan to wash clothes tonight, but it slipped my mind when I went to the gym this afternoon. I came back home and showered, only to find an empty drawer. In a panic, I put on some sweatpants and ran down to the basement to pull these babies out of storage:

That’s right, those are Gingerbread men, and these boxer briefs were retrieved from between our Xmas ornaments.

But the crisis wasn’t over. I took the heaping pile of dirty clothes downstairs to the laundry room this evening, only to find out that I was 25 cents short. The stupid machines cost $1.00 each and I only had $1.75, so I had enough to wash but not enough to dry.

There is a change machine in the laundry room but I only had a fifty in my wallet. I started the washer then got on my knees and looked under them for lost quarters, but found nothing. Next I went to the car and looked under the seats, but still couldn’t find anything (I’d spent all our quarters stupid Illinois Tollways this week).

Finally, I came back up to the apartment and texted my friends in our building to see if I could steal a quarter. It was my pal Molly Born who came through in the end, hitting me with a whole dollar to finish the laundry load.

So Molly can be thanked for the fact that I’m wearing clean underwear tomorrow. Thanks, Molly!

 

§ One Response to Day 161: Run out of underwear

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 161: Run out of underwear at Novice Du Jour.

meta

