Day 160: Reek of cheese

February 9, 2011 § 3 Comments

When I picked Stephanie up from school tonight she gagged when she climbed in the car.

That’s because I was carrying a heavy odor of cheese from my second day at the flavor chemistry lab. One of the teams had been developing a cheese flavor for a product, so the lab smelled like a barbecue as they tested it on burgers all day long.

It smelled pretty good when the burgers were in sight, but the smell of cheese is never pleasant when not accompanied by the physical food. I believe that to be the case with most dairy products.

Another interesting fact: they use the same chemical to produce a cherry flavor that they use to produce an almond flavor – benzaldehyde. Depending on the other chemicals added, it works in formulas for both cherry and almond flavorings. Now go tell your friends.

I apologize for lack of photos – I had to sign a bunch of confidentiality forms before going in so that I didn’t act as the Slugworth to their Willy Wonka. Tomorrow I’m going to design firm that is giving me a bit more access, so hopefully I’ll be able to post something super cool.

I guess I’d better go take a shower before bed  so Steph doesn’t feel like she’s going to sleep next to an aging block of Gruyere.

§ 3 Responses to Day 160: Reek of cheese

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 160: Reek of cheese at Novice Du Jour.

meta

