Day 158: Make anchovy pizza

February 8, 2011 § Leave a comment

I’ve had finely chopped anchovies in Caesar salad, but I’d never tried the little fillets on a pizza. I know there are those select people for whom anchovies are their favorite topping. Interested to see if I was missing out on something, I decided to give them a try.

I pulled the little fish out of the olive-oil filled tin and plopped them on my pepperoni pizza. They smelled like canned tuna, which I guess wasn’t particularly surprising. The oil made my pizza a little bit soggy. I probably should have drained them better.

I took a bite and was hit by a wave of salty. I couldn’t taste any of the other ingredients. I don’t think it tasted bad necessarily – it really just seemed to numb my taste buds. Then again, I’m no salt fanatic. I’d choose something sweet over chips and fries every time.

Ultimately, I just don’t think I’m strong enough to be an anchovy pizza kind of guy. I’m no Aquaman.

—-

Correction: Now that I think about it, eating anchovies might be against Aquaman’s principles. I’m pretty sure he is the defender of all marine creatures…so perhaps we’d be in solidarity on this.

 

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 158: Make anchovy pizza at Novice Du Jour.

meta

