Day 154: Get cozy with a stranger

February 3, 2011 § Leave a comment

I have a feeling that as long as I ride the L every day I will never run out of interesting stories. Today I have two.

First, I waited at the Foster station for the Purple Line Express this morning for more than a half hour. Why? Because the tracks had frozen and the CTA workers had to defrost them. My nose ran like a faucet. It was -3 degrees. Let’s hope Shout can remove snot stains from coat sleeves.

Second – and here comes the good one – I fell asleep on a random person on the train ride home. The cars were packed because so many people had decided not to take their vehicles out in the snow, or had just decided to leave them buried in the massive drifts.

After standing for half the ride, I was finally able to snag a seat. I pulled out my most recent Rolling Stone and started reading an article about Jimmy Carter.

I don’t know if I should blame the blasting heaters or Jimmy Carter, but it didn’t take me long to drift off to sleep. Have you ever fallen asleep sitting up and then jolted awake when you started to fall over? Well, this time I didn’t wake up until my head landed on the shoulder of the guy next to me. I guess you could say we snuggled for a second.

I vividly remember that he was listening to ‘Empire State of Mind’ on his iPod. He gave me a very uncomfortable look. I sat up embarrassed and apologized profusely.

We had five stops left. There were other open seats but I didn’t move because I didn’t want it to seem like too big of a deal. It was awkward. When we finally made it to Foster I ran out door.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 154: Get cozy with a stranger at Novice Du Jour.

meta

