Day 148: Be set loose in a brewery

January 29, 2011 § Leave a comment

Today I took a video of the inner workings of a brewery and interviewed the master brewer. This was actually a homework assignment. Can you believe that? In undergrad I wrote papers on Faulkner and Tennyson, and in grad school I make videos about beer. It’s almost worth the 50K. Almost…

The owner of Half Acre Brewing Company pretty much gave me free reign of his brewery with my camera, so I was able to climb ladders and take shots of giant brew tanks and tubs of grain. One of the brewers even offered me a beer while I filmed, but I reluctantly recalled last quarter’s Ethics of Journalism class and decided to pass. I did, however, purchase this monster growler for $16 before leaving:

Over the past few weeks, this project has significantly increased my beer IQ. The final product is going to be a website about Chicago’s craft beer scene. It won’t be done for another month or so, but I’ll post the final product.

Check out my most recent stories:

Seeking Beervana in Chicago

Meatless Monday movement rebrands age-old practice

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 148: Be set loose in a brewery at Novice Du Jour.

meta

