Day 142: Remember I’m a nerd

January 23, 2011 § Leave a comment

I have failed myself as a BA in English.

Since starting graduate school, I have put aside very little time to read for pleasure. Today was the first time in as long as I can remember that I actually set aside a half hour to read for fun. I hadn’t realized how much I missed it.

I studied English in college because as a kid, stories were my tool to escape. Not that real life was bad, but transporting my chubby, nonathletic self into the world of fiction made me feel special. It was a place where everybody belonged.

In honor of those days, here are five of my favorite modern short stories. I certainly don’t expect you to read all of them, but please take the time to read at least one of them. I promise you won’t regret it.

They are:

1) Bullet in the Brain by Tobias Wolff

2) Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been by Joyce Carol Oates

3) The Lottery by Shirley Jackson

4) The Cathedral by Raymond Carver

5) The Bear Went Over the Mountain by Alice Munro

Please forgive my inner literary nerd.

Let me know what you think of these stories, and feel free to post your favorites as well. I promise I’ll go read them.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 142: Remember I’m a nerd at Novice Du Jour.

meta

