Day 137: Cut the cheese and come to terms with my finances

January 18, 2011 § 2 Comments

Today we found this moldy block of cheese in the refrigerator. It had been there since before we went to Portland for the holidays. Some lesser person might have thrown it in the garbage, but not thrifty and sustainable individuals like Steph and I.

To be honest, being a cash-strapped grad student was among the most prominent factors in making this decision. After all, I’d seen them cut chunks of mold off of the fiant cheese wheels at the Tillamook Cheese Factory a million times. Cutting mold off of cheese is a pretty normal practice…I had just never done it with a block that looked quite like this.

I looked at this green, fuzzy brick of cheese and saw a heart of gold within its splotchy shell. It was my frog prince.

I took a steak knife and went to work, like Michelangelo did on the “Venus de Milo.” I cut a half inch off of every face, chiseling it back into something edible. When I finished, it looked as if it had been born anew.

While I’m all for conservation and frugality, I too have my moments. Yesterday I asked Stephanie if she had seen the lime I had bought the week before. In the fruit basket on top of our fridge, while there was no trace of the lime, I found a kiwi.

“When did we get kiwi?” I asked Steph.

“Think about it,” she said.

That’s when I realized that the kiwi was just my rotting lime. I threw it away.

§ 2 Responses to Day 137: Cut the cheese and come to terms with my finances

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 137: Cut the cheese and come to terms with my finances at Novice Du Jour.

meta

