Day 125: Become a real boy

January 6, 2011 § 4 Comments

Well, at least a real reporter.

No longer do I have to deal with the audible groans of sources when I tell them I am a lowly journalism student. Now I am Tyler Moss, reporter for the Medill News Service. It is my second quarter and I’m now legit. But I need your help.

I NEED YOU, fellow intellectual, to help make my reporting successful. I’m covering food and nutrition in the greater Chicago area. What new trends, studies, books, etc. have you recently encountered on these topics? What stories need to be told?

I beseech you – drown me in your knowledge. But seriously, I’d really appreciate any ideas.

§ 4 Responses to Day 125: Become a real boy

  • Scott says:

    Community gardens are really trendy right now. You should see if there are any local farm-to-school programs running though or any school food initiatives like that.

    If not, polish sausages.

  • Ron Nelson (your cuz) says:

    Check out the New Rage of “Food Carts”. Portland is listed as #1 in the world. They’re everywhere here and more popping up. Many News stations have reports in archives that sre informative. I don’t know about Food Carts in Chicago, but if they are big here they might be a growing trend elsewhere.

  • Liz Caravati says:

    Congratulations!! That sounds like a really fun area to cover.

    Hmmmm, I know that Native American food is “hot” right now. Maybe there’s a restaurant in/near Chicago that makes it?

    Also, a lot of people get sick around this time of year, so researching what foods help prevent/cure colds and other illnesses could work.

    Lastly, I just finished reading “The Omnivore’s Dilemma” by Michael Pollan (I made the mistake of reading it during lunch at work every day, and it was hard to finish my turkey sandwich most of the time, and I’m about to read “Eating Animals” by Jonathan Safran-Foer. I don’t know a whole lot about this movement yet, let alone follow it, but I know that it’s popular and gaining more and more followers. Looking into that area might provide you with a lot of info and articles. At the end of “The Omnivore’s Dilemma,” Michael Pollan makes a meal out of only ingredients that he has grown/gathered/hunted himself, down to the salt he uses. You could do something like that for an article or for your “new thing” of the day.

    Good luck!

  • Kevin Burnside says:

    What about the connection between food and sex? Its all over the art scene and people love art, especially erotic art, I mean usually. You just gotta give yourself the chance, and that’s all you can ask for some days, you know?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 125: Become a real boy at Novice Du Jour.

meta

