Day 119: Channel my inner bootlegger

December 31, 2010 § Leave a comment

I spent a good chunk of my final day in Portland making homemade Kahlua and Irish Cream at my cousin Ron and his wife Lorrie’s house, using Ron’s special recipes. We began by cooking the Kahlua on the stove top and funneling it into pint size bottles. Our homemade concoction won out in a taste test against the brand name drink, tasting much smoother and stronger.

I then had to pull myself away from Lorrie’s delicious crab dip to mix up the Irish Cream, which contained a number of raw eggs. Even if I were to get salmonella it would be well worth it, as that too tasted delicious, though I think I’m more of a Kahlua man myself. Packing to go home was quite a task, but you can bet I managed to shove a few bottles into both of our suitcases.

Who knows, now that I have the recipes down maybe I will start running a side business making alcohol out of our apartment to pay off my student loans.

I am now writing this from our gate at Portland International Airport after getting up at 3:45 a.m. After getting only two hours of sleep, I am considering sleeping through New Year’s Eve until Sunday. No worries – I will wake up for blog posting.

Next post will come in 2011!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 119: Channel my inner bootlegger at Novice Du Jour.

meta

