Day 118: Expose myself to the dentist

December 30, 2010 § Leave a comment

Mayor Bud Clark

Bud Clark, tavern-owner turned politician, was the mayor of Portland from 1985 to 1992. Aside from his legacy while in office, Clark is perhaps most well known for the above poster, in which he indeed ‘exposed’ himself to art. I did a little exposing of my own today, though mine was unintentional.

This morning I went to the dentist. The hygienist called my name and I walked into the back and sat down in the salmon colored chair. The hygienists at this office are usually pretty friendly and ask me questions while they are cleaning my teeth, the answers to which they undoubtedly can’t understand because their fingers are in my mouth, yet today the woman was unusually quiet.

Next came the dentist – a family friend of my parents – who took a few minutes to examine each tooth and ask how school was going. I answered his questions from the chair’s reclined position. After the dentist walked away, I noted that he seemed a little more distracted than normal.

Maybe it had been a rough morning in the office, I thought. Maybe the dentist was distraught because they had run out of those little travel bottles of Crest they give you when you leave, or it was possible that he had discovered a cavity  in the mouth of one of his children and he’d now be ruined.

The hygienist came back and pressed a button to return the chair to its vertical position. As my head slowly came forward, I came face to face with the source of the awkwardness hanging in the air. It seemed I had decided to catch the morning breeze through my wide open fly.

I zipped up my pants then zipped out of the office, not bothering to wait for my free toothbrush and floss. Hopefully the embarrassment will wear off in the next six months before I’m due for the next checkup.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 118: Expose myself to the dentist at Novice Du Jour.

meta

