Day 116: Follow a mom-date with a man-date

December 28, 2010 § Leave a comment

Tonight my friend Mike and I took our moms out to Gloria’z, a local pub and grill, to chat and have a few drinks. We had a good time and I think our mothers enjoyed the evening, but Mike, having finally become a full blown Portland beer snob, was displeased with the selection they had on draft, saying he would only drink on tap IPA. He decided to order an Irish coffee while I drank a Widmer Drop Top, but he soon decided that it was too strong, so I drank that up too.

After dropping our moms off at home, we drove out to the Laurelwood Brewery on 51st and Sandy for a wider selection.

Portland has more independent breweries per capita than any other city in the United States. We also have more strip clubs per capita, but that is neither here nor there. I was stuffed from earlier, but when Mike ordered a basket of garlic fries and a bowl of jalapeno spinach dip I somehow found myself devouring half the order. As I lay here in bed, the stench of garlic still lingers on my breath, even post-teeth brushing.

I drank a seasonal brown ale called ‘Vinter Varmer’ and another brown ale called ‘Hooligan,’ which were both delicious. I’d like to return some time to order an actual entree, and it looks like during the summer there is a patio on the roof, which would be awesome. To my fellow brew enthusiasts, I give Laurelwood two thumbs way up.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 116: Follow a mom-date with a man-date at Novice Du Jour.

meta

