Day 113: Make hot buttered rum and open the Chicago skyline

December 25, 2010 § Leave a comment

Tonight I made hot buttered rum to have with the crystallized ginger cupcakes my mom made for dessert. The drink was a little bit sweet for my tastes, but I felt festive and can now say that I’ve tried it.

The highlight of the evening was definitely the following gift:

By Michele Nelson

I know that Christmas isn’t supposed to be about the gifts, but this one is too special not to mention. When my parents came to visit this year, my mom took a photo of the Chicago skyline from the Northwestern campus in Evanston. My grandmother liked the photo so much that she decided she wanted to paint it. This is the final product, which Stephanie and I opened tonight.

I think it’s incredible. My favorite part is the texture of the water. It will be a trial getting it back to Chicago, but certainly well worth it. Now, time to put out the milk and cookies and head for bed.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 113: Make hot buttered rum and open the Chicago skyline at Novice Du Jour.

meta

