Day 98: See The Daily Show live

December 9, 2010 § Leave a comment

The Daily Show studio in NYC

I’m sorry that I don’t have better photos from within the studio, but they threatened to confiscate our cameras if we took them out.

As VIPs, Steph and I got to sit in the front row, just left of Jon’s desk – literally the closest seat in the house. Before the show, he came out, told some jokes and answered audience questions. Some examples:

Woman: Will you ever run for public office?

Jon: No. Absolutely not. I would ruin it.

Man: What do you think of Michael Bloomberg?

Jon: I like him. I like any politician who is smaller than I am.

Man: When are you going to make the show a full hour long?

(Writers with headsets can be seen shaking their heads profusely.)

Jon: Seriously? At my age you’re lucky I don’t just do 10 minutes on Mondays and Tuesdays.

The studio is so much smaller than it appears on TV. It felt as if we were intruding upon Jon’s personal video diary. It was funny to see him prepare his facial expression while a clip was playing and hold it until the cameras cut back to him. His energy was contagious, and he seemed to know all the employees, from camera operators to ushers, by name.

The guest tonight was supposed to be James Franco, but ended up being a little old British man who was an expert on Teddy Roosevelt. My disappointment was relieved by the way Jon interacted with the quirky historian. Jon even did an impression of the historian to the audience (all in good fun) after the guy had left the stage.

After that, even if I keeled over tomorrow, I’d have a smile on my face.

As I write this the episode isn’t yet posted online. However, if you click here tomorrow you should be able to watch the full episode (Ep. December 9, 2010).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 98: See The Daily Show live at Novice Du Jour.

meta

