Day 92: See a fox

December 4, 2010 § 2 Comments

I know this sounds like a really boring thing to post, but believe it or not, I had never seen a fox before today. I had thought they were mythical creatures, like unicorns or Florida natives. In fairy tales the fox is always a jerk, like in the story of the gingerbread man when he eats the protagonist after promising to ferry him across the lake. But, alas, they do exist.

I saw it running around in front of the campus design building. It was so big that I might have mistaken it for a dog if Steph hadn’t confirmed its foxy-ness. To be fair, that’s because I can’t tell the difference between animals. All dogs look the same to me, and at Costco a couple of weeks ago, I pointed out a package of miniature turkeys to cook for Thanksgiving. I then discovered that these small turkeys were, in fact, chickens.

Now I want a pet fox. It wouldn’t bark, could be walked on a leash and I could set its dung on fire in paper bags in front of the door of our noisy neighbors.

P.S. To my brother Jaret, who we all mocked one evening this summer for saying he saw a fox running down Rolling Meadows, I apologize.

 

§ 2 Responses to Day 92: See a fox

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 92: See a fox at Novice Du Jour.

meta

