Day 75: Meet David Sedaris

November 17, 2010 § 3 Comments

Less than a week since Amy Sedaris  was in town (Day 72), David Sedaris was in Chicago doing a book signing and reading at the Borders off of Diversey Street. I didn’t think I would be able to go because I had class, but Stephanie was somehow able to snag me an extra access bracelet this morning. As soon as class got out at 4:30, I rushed home, dumped my backpack on the couch and ran out to catch the L.

Steph was able to save a seat for me three rows back from the podium, and I barely made it before a sassy Borders employee started threatening to kick out anyone who pushed through the crowd to the front.

The bad news is that we weren’t allowed to take pictures because David doesn’t like pictures of himself. The good news is that he was awesome.

He read excerpts from his new book, “Squirrel Seeking Chipmunk,” including a story exclusive to the audio book called “The Shit and Vomit Eating Flies.” He also read hilarious excerpts from his diary, told a number of dirty jokes and even answered questions from the audience.

I had him sign our copy of “Me Talk Pretty One Day,” which you can see below. I don’t know why he decided to draw an owl.

David was really friendly while signing books. He told jokes, asked personal questions and asked me if I knew any good jokes. I told him the following: What is the opposite of Christopher Reeves? Christopher Walken! He had already heard it, but I’m pretty sure he appreciated the effort.

He asked where I went to school and told me that his boyfriend graduated from Northwestern. I asked if he had any advice for an aspiring comedy/magazine writer, and he said I should move to New York. Then he told me a dirty joke and my time was up.

I think I’m still a little star struck. Now, to top off a perfect week, I just need to find out where Flannery O’Connor and Mark Twain are holding their book signings.

§ 3 Responses to Day 75: Meet David Sedaris

  • Liz Caravati says:

    Aaaaaaaaaaaah!! You have no idea how jealous I am!! He was just in Salt Lake doing the same thing and I missed it, and he’s COMING TO DAVIS but tickets are sold out! I guess this would have been a good week for us to visit you guys 🙂

  • Kenny Hughes says:

    First: Awesome.

    Second: The only thing I remember about Flannery O’Connor is that story about the annoying woman that gets her fake leg stolen. I think that was one of the funniest stories I had to read in high school.

  • Shireen Niezgoda says:

    You can visit New York but don’t take his advice and move to New York. It’s too far away from Oregon!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 75: Meet David Sedaris at Novice Du Jour.

meta

