Day 71: Go to a Brazilian/Italian restaurant

November 13, 2010 § Leave a comment

Most restaurants that specialize in multi-cultural cuisine are pretty dingy. Take, for example, the restaurant “Husky or Maltese Whatever” on Powell in Southeast Portland, whose sign says it specializes in breakfast, dinner, French, Italian and hot dogs. Actually, I’m pretty sure that place is a mob front. But tonight we went to Al Primo Canto, which pulled off the eclectic menu while managing to stay classy.

I’ll be honest, I don’t really know if they pulled it off. I have never had Brazilian food, so I can’t even say whether or not I ate any tonight. However, I do know that I had some pretty tasty deep fried polenta, rotisserie cooked lamb and crunchy potatoes with Gorgonzola sauce.

We even pulled the following scripted scene to score free dessert:

Waiter: Are we interested in dessert or coffee this evening?

Me: Oh I don’t know. [Looking at Steph] What do you think?

Steph: You decide. After all, it’s your [said with emphasis] birthday!

Waiter: It’s your birthday? Well dessert is on me then.

And that is how we got a free piece of $6 chocolate mousse cake for dessert.

Thanks to Groupon for the hookup.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 71: Go to a Brazilian/Italian restaurant at Novice Du Jour.

meta

