Day 59: Have Thanksgiving on Halloween

November 1, 2010 § 3 Comments

For the rest of the quarter I have been asked to cover food, health, and nutrition related issues relevant to the citizens of Skokie, Lincolnwood, Morton Grove, Niles and Glenview, Illinois. For my first story, I decided to have a little fun.

I noticed a number of local stores advertising free range turkeys and produce grown from nearby farms. So, I decided I would write a story about how you can make Thanksgiving dinner both local and affordable. I wanted to write the article far before Thanksgiving Day to make sure readers would have time to respond to my advice. For that reason, I decided to make turkey, caramelized onion stuffing, bacon green beans, gravy, cranberry sauce and sweet potato casserole on Halloween.

It was an all day event. Cooking everything in our tiny kitchen was hectic, and timing it was a pain. I enlisted Stephanie to help because I otherwise would have crashed and burned. Finally, I invited some friends over to sample the fruits of our labor and watch some scary movies.

The general consensus was positive. The turkey was juicy, flavorful and far less fatty than your normal Butterball. I was pleased with everything else as well. I had expected to have leftovers all the way to real Thanksgiving, but so much was eaten that I think the modest remains will only last a week or so. Overall, I’d say it was most definitely a success.

Is that not the most awesome homework ever? Now for the article writing…

§ 3 Responses to Day 59: Have Thanksgiving on Halloween

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 59: Have Thanksgiving on Halloween at Novice Du Jour.

meta

