Day 53: Eat a cactus pear

October 25, 2010 § Leave a comment

I’ve had this one on the back burner for a while now. A month ago we were given a photo scavenger hunt assignment, and one of the pictures we had to take was of a weird fruit or vegetable. I took a picture of this cactus pear and then bought one, figuring I would eat it eventually for the blog.

Fast forward three weeks. I forgot it was still in our fruit drawer. I was going to eat it on Day 43, but then I won the trip to New York and decided that was slightly more newsworthy. I washed it off and cut it open, and it looked like this:

I’m not sure if it is expired or rotten because I don’t know what it is supposed to look like. A month is a long time for a fruit to sit around. However, it isn’t squishy and doesn’t taste particularly foul. Cactus pears have a lot of seeds. I’m not sure how to eat this. I guess my digestive system will find out whether or not this is expired in the next couple of hours.

Thank you for listening to today’s stream of consciousness. For hints on what tomorrow’s post may include, check out this link regarding the “Great Lakes Cyclone.”

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 53: Eat a cactus pear at Novice Du Jour.

meta

