Day 41: Get caught in a torrential downpour on the way to class

October 14, 2010 § 2 Comments

I thought I knew the rain. In Portland it “rains” for eight months of the year. Walking to class or walking around downtown is no big deal as long as you have a light jacket. I blame Portland for my misjudgment of the thunderstorm that destroyed me this morning.

Today we had to bring all of our technology equipment (video camera, audio recorder, microphone, laptop, etc.) to class in order to practice video editing. As I packed all of the stuff in my backpack, I could hear the rain through the window of our apartment. However, a large tree prevented me from seeing any actual rainfall. I was running late, so I grabbed my rain jacket and ran down the stairs and into the parking lot.

The sky was falling. The drops looked like solid ropes of water beating the pavement. My thin jacket was a lousy excuse for protection against the rain. A few other students ran outside with umbrellas, which was probably the smart thing to do, but it was too late for me to go back and get an umbrella. I was low on time and needed to get to class. I wasn’t sure whether or not my backpack was water proof, so I quickly ducked into an alcove, took off my jacket, swung my backpack around to the front of my body, and put my jacket back on over it. I looked like I was pregnant with a very awkwardly shaped child.

I walked half a mile like this before the rain let up and I could return the backpack to my back. My shoes and pants were completely saturated with water when I showed up at the McCormick Tribune Center, and I am pretty sure I left a wet imprint of my body on the Forum seat. Maybe if it stains they can put a plaque with my name on the armrest  when I’m famous.

Just another day in the joy that is the Midwest.

 

§ 2 Responses to Day 41: Get caught in a torrential downpour on the way to class

  • Keith Hummel says:

    I also experienced the East Coast downpour on my WA DC trip in 8th grade. My group and I were right outside the Smithsonian, and if I didn’t have an umbrella to create a pocket of air around me, I’m pretty sure I would have drowned standing there.

  • Kenny Hughes says:

    Hah. Try going to the Bahamas. It will make Chicago rain seem like baby tears.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 41: Get caught in a torrential downpour on the way to class at Novice Du Jour.

meta

