Day 27: Eat bacon on a doughnut

September 29, 2010 § Leave a comment

I had another late night of homework in store and was feeling homesick. One of my favorite undergraduate remedies to 2am writer’s block was a quick trip to Voodoo Doughnut. For those of you unfamiliar with Portland, Voodoo is a doughnut shop in downtown Portland that is open 23 hours a day and has some of the most interesting and delicious doughnuts known to man:

Voodoo Doughnut

I was determined to replicate one of their most famous creations, the Bacon Maple Bar, which I have never actually tried. While walking home I stopped at a nearby 7-11 to pick up supplies. Without thinking, I grabbed a pack of bacon and a bar before heading home. It wasn’t until later when I was getting ready to make my delectable creation that Stephanie pointed out my mistake. I had bought a chocolate bar, not a maple bar. Although I knew the flavors wouldn’t quite meld the same way, I was too set on bacon and doughnut to wait for the next maple bar delivery.

The bacon made a gratifying crunch as I bit into the bar, and the grease really complemented the sugar. I could feel the waistband of my pants tighten after every bite, which I believe is the desired effect. While it wasn’t half bad, I’m sure maple is better, and furthermore, I’m sure I could never get it as perfect as Voodoo. I’ll leave you with their delightfully suggestive slogan: “The Magic is in the Hole.”

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 27: Eat bacon on a doughnut at Novice Du Jour.

meta

