Day 26: Shave my armpits

September 28, 2010 § Leave a comment

Tonight a cool breeze off of Lake Michigan brings rise to goosebumps beneath my naked armpits. That’s because I shaved them. A number of you suggested that I wax various parts of my body, but a chest or bikini wax sounded too painful. I thought about shaving my legs, but Stephanie seemed to think it would hurt her far more than it would hurt me. So the pits would have to do.

I had to start with an electric razor to remove the longer base layer. Then, for authenticity, I used Stephanie’s Venus Embrace leg razor and Satin Care shaving cream on what remained. For five minutes I hacked blindly at the furry concave caverns beneath my arms. I think it speaks to the quality of the razor that my arms don’t look like casualties of war. I won’t go so far as to say I now know what it’s like to be a woman, but the experience certainly wasn’t pleasant. I dread the itchy weeks to come, as the follicles slowly curl back to their original mangy state.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 26: Shave my armpits at Novice Du Jour.

meta

